LONG OVERDUE: I am GROOT. Special all ‘Guardians’ Post!

guardians-of-the-galaxyAlthough admittedly, if you ask a couple of my closest friends, and I quote: “Dude. You are StarLord”. I am hardly going to complain about being compared to the cocky, sarcastic yet somehow-still-charming heroic pirate type character of what is undoubtedly the smash hit of the summer. If you have seen Guardians of the Galaxy, you clearly understand what I am talking about. If you have not seen Guardians of the Galaxy, I hate you. Fix it. Immediately. (No seriously, stop reading and go see it – I’ll wait.)  Also please NOTE: There is one mini, pseudo spoiler at the bottom of this post.

tumblr_inline_na7t8ybPPG1qgp297

What a Fantastic, Amazing, Really-Well-Done Movie!

OK good, now I like you all again. This. Movie. Was. Fantastic. Very much my most anticipated “minutes” of the summer, it did not disappoint in the slightest. I actually saw it twice in the first week – don’t worry, I only counted the minutes once. A beautiful mash up of Star Wars and comic book characters combined with a fantastically written script, amazingly crafted characters and beautiful special effects. Honestly this may have been the best movie Marvel has made yet. Yup, I said it. Prove me wrong. It was as good or better than The Avengers, and it managed to do so with a cast of unknown characters.

Music to My Ears!

I have to pause for a second to bring up one of, in my opinion, the more brilliant moves in movie making. The soundtrack is truly the heart and soul of this film, from the first trailer to the ending credits. The series of classic rock, 60’s and 70’s hit songs that Peter Quill, a.k.a. Star Lord (Chris Pratt) listens to on his beloved walkman define him as a character, and are the essential connection back to his home planet of Earth (and his mother). The choices of songs for this “Awesome Mix vol. 1” wasn’t just important to the peppyness and fun of the film, but literally served as an Earthly connection to the audiences. Science fiction movies often struggle outside of the realm of sci-fi fans, and a movie set entirely in space would potentially be in jeopardy of falling into that black hole. However, the widely known classic songs (such as a brilliant opening scene to “Come and Get Your Love” and of course the trailer song “Hooked on a Feeling”, along with the Jackson 5, David Bowie, Marvin Gaye and more) helped attract a wider audience that perhaps subconsciously felt this movie was less “space-y” thanks to its very Earth-rooted soundtrack. Brilliantly done, and a lot of fun!

HAHAHAHA!

Did I mention this movie is FUNNY? Such perfectly crafted dialogue, whether it be back and forth or subtle one liners. I was pretty much cracking up constantly. I realized in my second viewing, which was in a completely fully packed, sold out theater, i.e., much more noise from laughter, that this movie was funny enough that people actually missed OTHER hilarious lines because they were still laughing from the previous hilarious lines. If you saw it only once and in a fully packed theater, call in sick and go see it again on a Tuesday afternoon; you missed things.

Eggs! Oh, the Eggs!

Now I am a huge Marvel fan. I have watched and read comic book characters and cartoons since I was little and pretty much love them all. This movie was chalk full of hidden Easter eggs tipping the hat to previous and related Marvel characters and story lines. I won’t get into them in detail here (in case you didn’t listen to me and didn’t go see the movie…) BUT this is a fantastic video summary of all the Easter eggs from the film! (Spoilers, duh)

 

Be sure to let me know what you thought of the film!

Xl3JVqF

Leave a Reply

